Know all about AME License and Process to Get an AME License

Know all about AME License and Process to Get an AME License

Posted on : 15 February, 2021 4:13 pm

The Aircraft Maintenance Engineer License means to carry out and certify aircraft maintenance. It is internationally valid and recognized/issued under the guidance of the International Civil Aviation Organisation (ICAO). This license is valid for 6 years. After 6 years, the license gets renewed.


Here are some definitions of the license types and their requirements. These are specific to the countries governed by the European Aviation Safety Agency (EASA) and India is governed by the Directory General Council of Aviation.


AME Licence Categories

There are 5 license categories for Aircraft Maintenance Engineer. One can found them as follows:

  • A
  • B1
  • B2
  • B3
  • C


A and B1 are categorized into 4 subcategories :

  • A1 and B1.1 : Aeroplane Turbine
  • A2 and B1.2 :Aeroplane Piston
  • A3 and B1.3: Helicopter Turbine
  • A4 and B1.4: Helicopter Piston


The A and B1 subcategories are the same but the level of their work is totally different. Furthermore, the detailed description of these categories is below:


AME Licence Categories In Detail

  • Category A

    This category license holder will be able to issue a certificate of release for the service after the minor scheduled line maintenance and simple defect rectification. The Category A license is issued by the DGCA.

  • Category B1

    B1 is the license for the Mechanical stream in Aircraft. The Mechanical Stream is related to the components such as Fuselage, Landing Gear, and Wings, etc. No troubleshooting is done by the B1 licensed category. Their responsibility is only to deft rectification in the aircraft.

  • Category B2

    Category B2 license holders are full-scope aviation license holders. They can perform all the aviation-related tasks in an aircraft. They also certify their task. The B2 license holders can also do some simple mechanical-related tasks and certify the same. However, that should not involve any troubleshooting.

  • Category B3

    Category B3 licensed holders will be able to issue a Certificate of Release to Service (CRS) after doing any maintenance task on an aircraft, any mechanical task, and much more. It is specifically mentioned in the B3 Category that it should be piston engine aircraft and non-specified aircraft, the maximum take-off of which should be 2000 kg or less.

  • Category C

    The Category C license holders are normally found in the basement department. Furthermore, they will be able to issue CRS on the type of aircraft. They are specifically endorsed in this license.


Process To Get AME License

To get an AME license, first, the candidate should qualify for the AME Entrance Exam and then take admission to AME Institute. Aircraft Maintenance Engineering Course is of the duration of 4 years. In these 4 years, 2 years will be an academic program and the other 2 years will be live training.


There will be some modules conducted by DGCA. After clearing the modules and 2 years of practical training, the license will be issued to the candidate by the DGCA Govt of India. The AME License is a mandatory qualification to become an Aircraft Maintenance Engineer worldwide.


Admission Process

If the applicant is interested in Aviation courses, then he/ she should immediately go to the www. amecet. in and fill the application form. 


For admission to one Top AME colleges in India, here is the procedure that the student can follow:

  • Students can first fulfill the eligibility criteria for the AME course.
  • The candidates should qualify for the AME CET 2022 exam to get admission to one of the top aviation colleges with scholarships.